Can’t stop typing about mushrooms

Leave a comment
architecture, art, bamboo, beauty, cooking, design, digitalnomad, entrepreneur, female, food, forest, freelance, hacker, japan, language, learning, maker, meditation, mind, nature, peace, research, shinto, tea, travel, Uncategorized, zen

Hi everyone and future Freyja! I planned to stop writing my blog… but then I realised I still want somewhere to keep a record of things that I’ve one of learned that I’d like to review and record for future reference. So as I see no harm in continuing to keep this blog, that’s just what I’ll do.

I’ve been studying at the RCA on Design Products for well over a month now. Learnt so much already, and having the chance to put so much time into my interests is proving the most incredible gift of all, I am hugely aware of how much of a privilege this this, it’s not one I plan on not appreciating. Anyway more details on my time at the RCA if and when it becomes relevant but for now I wanted to record my trip to Article 25, an amazing initiative being built next to the new market in Elephant and Castle.

For our first main product at the RCA we are looking at the future of food production and how emerging technologies can effect the way we think, buy, prepare and enjoy food. My area of interest is the negative effects of industrial farming and emerging ethical meat alternatives, this is the  brief I’ve written myself:brief_codefood_freyjasewell

At Article 25 they take the waste produced by the market with the intention to turn the trash into treasure. They have only recently set up and their first task is to set up producing mushrooms from waste coffee grounds, when coffee is made only a few percent of the coffee is actually used, more the 90% goes in the bin. Ceser, who is setting up the farm with his brother Alessandro, has this to say:

“Think of the city as an organism, where the waste of one creature becomes food for another one. We would grow the mushrooms using recycled coffee grains that would otherwise end up in a landfill. London currently uses up resources that require a land footprint more than 125 times its own size. This is something we need to collectively understand and deal with – and projects like this can help.”

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Leave a Reply

